Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fairy

I may not be able to lay claim to fairies at the bottom of the garden* but I do have them on the dining room door. Not sure what this is really, but Conor did well to spot it, as it was better camouflaged than this shot makes it look. Also, can I just say, if you've spent ages painting a door and are really proud of the finish and the job you've done... Take a close up photo with a macro lens... I had to spend longer cleaning spots and hairs off this shot than I think painting the door took...

With Conor away all day at a football tournament with Mr B, Katherine and I could have a lazy day. So she stayed in bed until noon reading, and I, well I wish I could say I lazed about but I didn't. After a week off with our friends it's time to get to work properly.

So I have been applying for jobs. Mr B, ever hopeful, believes that I will easily find a job back in England. This is despite having been away from law for ten years, and in the middle of a recession. We shall see. However, never one to turn away from a challenge I have spruced up my cv and am churning out cover letters at a fair rate, always trying to strike that balance between chirpy and eager (but never desperate) and sober and professional. I have to hope that my lack of enthusiasm doesn't shine from the pages as, even with my firm belief that I've about as much chance at the moment of getting a job as a lawyer as Conor has, I can't think of anything I'd like less than having to be a weekly or fortnightly commuter to England. It was never part of the deal but - of course - deals change and we all need to be flexible.

On a happier note, I also found time to finish writing a book today. A teeny tiny one. Which I will, once the cover design is cobbled together, self-publish on Amazon. Obviously with a whole two days of effort put into it, it is no great work of literature, but if it earns a few euros it will be worth it.

Conor's team, since you ask, won all five matches with a clean sheet in each. And Conor was gardien for one match, and in defence for the others. I think it's safe to say he likes football again.

* We have croaking horny frogs at the bottom of ours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.