A sign of the times

We watched the 1Oth anniversary of the 7/7 bombings this morning on breakfast TV. I remember that day well. My Dad was alive then, and he was having lunch with me, when we heard the terrible news. I am sure there are  a lot of people , who can also remember what they were doing on the day of that terrible tragedy  in London.
We turned off the television and were getting ready to go to Cowbridge, when there was a knock on our back door. It was,  talk a glass eye to sleep, Peter, J's friend, loosely speaking. He was here a good hour, by which time I was ready to go. When he eventually went, I had to wait for J to get ready, and he informed me that he was going around Peter's  house this afternoon, to do some repairs on Peter's Triumph. He has three bikes, but generally relies on J ,to sort then out when a problem arises. We eventually got to Cowbridge, and went to Waitrose for a few foodie bits. We then walked up to the town, went to the bank, and of course I had to check out the shop that sells Joules. The sale was on, so I had a sweatshirt for half price.  As  you know I don't have many clothes to wear!!!! Next stop was a browse around a shop selling some lovely bits and pieces for the home. We liked this sign, that was right in front of the counter, and I thought it would make a great blip. Unfortunately the lady was standing directly behind the counter. I asked if it would be alright to take a photo of the sign, as it was my brothers birthday soon  (it isn't) and I wanted to see if he would like it for a present.  She  said it wasn't a problem , and we  had a good old chat. We then came home, and J changed into his overalls, and has been around Peter's all afternoon,  but at least I had a bit of peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.