snailspace

By snailspace

Tied up in knots

The results of yesterday afternoon's spinning and last evening's plying activity. I made my yarn into a tidy skein this morning and tied it off in readiness for washing. I also plied the remaining singles until one bobbin was empty. This meant that this afternoon I was able to sit and spin until that bobbin was full again. This very happily used up all of the remaining roving in that colour! I am buoyed up and ready to sit and spin for the next two afternoons, knowing that this will be the end of this big project - and my first ever "jumper spin" all done.

I have settled upon some purple hand-dyed Blue Faced Leicester for my next project. There is just one braid of 100 grams to tackle. Should feel like a small job after finishing a sweater's worth!

Anyway, I am feeling so very positive that I have even unearthed a knitting project, with the aim of finishing it for the Show.  It seems an unlikely goal - this so-called "Unfinished Object" had only 10 rows done so far, and that at the thin end of a wedge-shape. I can't see how I can make enough time to finish it - especially as it seems to be an extremely taxing pattern. It took me half an hour to do 2 rows, with repeated unpickings - and I only have 32 stitches on the needle so far. I think I may be aiming for the stars but doubt that I shall even touch the moon. At least I shall have a head start on next  year's Show box. (Curls patterns - I am making "Filemot" in a handspun that I made for the Show last year.)

My photo entries have been posted back to me from the printer. I cannot wait to see them. I hope they did a good job after  I spent so long in anguishing over which to choose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.