Foxy's Folio

By KF

The Pipes, The Pipes Are Calling .....

Today saw the start of the great kitchen refit and largely involved our very affable and knowledgeable fitter, Steve, going up and down stairs, pulling up carpets and floorboards in various rooms, muttering to himself and generally trying to come to terms with the apparently arcane workings of our plumbing system. He also made regular game attempts to explain these workings to me with the result that I have been told more about pipes, condensers, evaporators (or whatever), what currently is connected to what and what will be connected to what by the time he's finished, than I ever hoped to know. I suspect it won't take him long to comprehend the depths of my ignorance (I got a Grade H in O Level Physics - I think it stood for Horrendous - in the days when grades used to go that low, before they realised the ireparable damge it did to the teenage psyche.).

These are some of pipes he revealed when he'd prised off the dresser that was protecting their secrets. I've given them a 90 degree twist to represent the disorientation I'm still experiencing. Tomorrow sees the start of work in earnest; I'm praying for fine weather so that I can escape to the golf course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.