Exit stage left

By NessD

Road trip

Impromptu solo road trip up north after work to see my folks. Something of a last minute decision hence the pyjamas drying on the seat as I drove with the emergency sweet supplies. They almost worked as well as Tangfastics. Almost.

I used to drive long distance all the time but somehow we've slipped into K driving most of the time* so this was the first in a while. The first 20 minutes or so felt oddly quiet as we usually chat while travelling. It doesn't bode well on a 5+ hour drive when you're thinking "haven't I passed the M4 yet" but after I'd realised I could move the radio away from Radio 4 and have some tunes to sing along too, I rediscovered my love of driving.

The journey did try to challenge that. 45 minutes to do a mile to get from the M40 to M42. Oh and the motorway speed limit seems to have been changed to 50mph while I've been commuting by train. Finally made it "home home" at 1:40am for tea and chats. Well you can't go straight to bed, can you?

Vx

* That sounds odd I know but I'm a much better passenger and map reader.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.