Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Neighbours

Treated JR to my (two ingredient) banana pancakes for breakfast this morning...  Then had a lazy morning pottering about with my new iPod, setting up apps  etc while listening to the Penquin Cafe Orchestra.

Living in a city, you go for weeks/months without seeing your neighbours, but the ones from both sides visited today. One side brought veges from his allotment, as he's off to Spain. The other side came in to pick up a parcel we had for him. He moved in months ago, but is never there - off climbing mountains. However, today, we went in for a look at the flat. It had been empty for years, and before that an old lady lived there. What a lot of work needs doing! He'd rather spend the weekend climbing/biking/running than painting a room. We had lots of suggestions for him, but I fear nothing will get done for quite a while yet.

Archie's friend Kerri came to take him out for a walk this morning, and I took him to the Meadows this afternoon, where he had a good run around with wee Steffie, a Yorkshire Terrier/Jack Russel cross. She was fast!

Great women's' tennis final today. Serena has such an intimidating on-court demeanour, but once she's off she's delightful. Mind you, she did win a ton of money (£1.88 million), but I think it's the title she cherishes more. Looking forward to tomorrow's match!

I had a Magnum (actually, a much much cheaper own brand version). Archie sits and stares at me/it the whole time without wavering. A burglar could come in and he (Archie, not the burglar) would NOT take his eyes off it. Not that I'd still be sitting eating a Magnum if a burglar came in...

I do give him a teensy bit (no chocolate) at the end. Honest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.