Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hospital Day One

I was luxuriating in the shower about 8.30, enjoying the fact that I could report at the hospital at the civilised time of 10.30, when the phone went. It was the hospital, wondering where I was, my surgeon was waiting for me!!! I was scheduled a 7.30 admission!! Though not on my official letter, which I had double checked.

Anyway, I got there by 9am, but this was not relayed to my team, who rang home again to locate me (which caused JR a slight panic) and eventually found me at 10.30, in the waiting room, chatting with a couple of chaps about tennis and football. They had both been in since 7.30.

The anaesthetist eventually found me too, and dashed into the room exclaiming,

'Aha! You've been found. The lesser spotted Lady Marchmont!'*

Anyway, the operation all went to plan. Although I do remember being aware of a high pitched whine of a skill saw! EEek!

I was initially in a four bed room by myself. Boring. Got moved to another ward. Interesting. The wee old lady opposite me is VERY demanding, and has a very high pitched voice, like she's on helium. I asked her if she enjoyed her tea. 'My knee, yes.' She's a bit deaf. End of conversation. The other, much younger, woman passed out and could not be roused, causing panic stations. The lady who's on her second knee replacement beside me is just normal and chatty...

JR brought me my techie stuff, and grapes, and I can use my phone as a hotspot for my iPad. I'm just going watch Kabul Kitchen Series 2, downloaded on to my iPad.

My legs are beginning to regain feeling, so I expect I'll be buzzing for painkillers soon.

I got a choice for my tea. Vege soup, sweet'n'sour chicken, and rice pudding. Delicious.




*Though I do not, of course, use my title as it's not a private hospital...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.