new friends

I go past this field every time I cycle to West Wemyss (not as often I should, someone shouted).

I think it usually has horses in it, but they tend to be at the other end. Today (as you can see) they were at the end I pass. Like most horses they are curious and friendly (or hoping for an apple).

Not far from there a seal popped its head out of the water to watch me pass. Same thing on the way back. Maybe hoping I carry a supply of mackerel around with me.

A young rabbit had a good look at me too. (It wasn't in the water). It quickly decided I enjoy rabbit in a mustard sauce, and headed for the nearest nettles.

A spaniel licked my leg. A Border collie tried to bite it. Collies, Jack Russells and any kind of terrier are a danger to cyclists (and runners). 99.9% certain to try to bite. Spaniels and Labradors are 99.9% safe.   

Don't start me about dog owners...

The best part of the day was getting on the scales after my cycle. 93kg! A miracle.

With all my travels recently (when I have much less control over what I eat and drink) and a couple of weekends blighted by the cold, I was expecting 95+.

93 kg may seem a lot. It is. But, it's only 8kg more than I was aged 21 and fitter than a butcher's dog. Some things have moved south of course, but it happens to us all.

Hope the OH doesn't read this. She has other ideas on the subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.