The Wasp Factory

So, the beautiful beginnings of the Wasps' bike that Dave captured a couple of months back has since grown that bit bigger. We swithered about whether to knock it down and destroy it in the hope they would relocate. But our hearts were only half in it, even though Dave fears them with a vengeance for stinging him all over as a wee lad. So we knocked it down into a box..and left it undamaged and still sheltered in the shed. The busy wasps carried on, ate their way through the box and created this, a nest in and out of a box all at the same time. It's amazing, marble swirls inside the box, Jupiter swirls outside the box. Come August I'll probably regret keeping them as shed fellows when they get notoriously arsy during their time of the month/year. But until then, they've let me get the bird food and lawn mower out, even let me go close for a wee look when I'm feeling brave, but I'm not going to push my luck. And as for Dave, he's just racked up another excuse not to help me cut the grass.

No ending like Mr Banks' book though (spoiler alert!), mama wasp is definately a mama wasp, going by the amount of wee waspies she's producing in there and how her scent brings all the drones to the yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.