Opera in Český Krumlov

My neighbour and I went on a bus tour to Český Krumlov for a performance of Carmen at the open air revolving theatre in the castle gardens. I have always wanted to see something in this theatre since I first visited Krumlov many years ago. I jumped at the chance when my neighbour wanted to go to see Carmen. It was a magic performance in the open air utilising the gardens and the summer house Bellarie. There was a touch of realism seeing Carmen and Jose rolling around on the ground and coming up covered in real dust. 
Photography was not allowed during the performance so I have attached a link hereand here. The extra is the only photo I took showing how close our seats were to the front (8th row) - I think the performance cost only about the equivalent of 25 Euro. The whole trip including bus, city tour, dinner at a local brewery and the performance cost 90 Euro, incredible value. The opera started at 9.30 pm and we didn't get home until after 2am so this is a back blip and I will have to do another back blip for today's entry after another long but lovely summer day. The rellies are heading off to Amsterdam for 4 days so I will have some time to catch up with all your journals during the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.