How the light gets in

By sarahkerr

On the wire

So, I'm back to blip. Why the absence? I suppose life got in the way, an extremely heavy work load, and I got lost in the abyss of only picking up my camera on weekends.

My photography has gone quite well when I've had time, even winning some good awards at our local camera club. I've noticed trends in my work (noticeably a love of colour), which is understandably difficult to muster in winter.

My mind however has struggled, and is not so colourful. After being on anti-depressants for almost two years, I have made the difficult decision to start to reduce my dosages. This makes days darker sometimes, regardless of the light around me.

So I've decided it's time to return to the best therapy I've found to date; photography. Thanks to Blip and the lovely support this place provides, I found the confidence to get back to work, meet new people, and discover light in places where I never thought I'd find it. Now it's time to use my passion to get me back to where I need to be.

However, I'm going to use blip in a different way, via 'mini-projects' - focusing on elements of photography to hone my skills further. For a while (at least the next month or possibly longer), I'm going to use the same mono settings on all of my shots, focusing on form and features in a minimalist way. I seem to focus a lot on colour, so I feel it will do me good to view the light in a simpler way for a while.

It seems to reflect my mind set really; simplicity in a very cluttered world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.