Blackcurrant bliss

I got an unexpected afternoon off today; we were short staffed at work and there was nobody to assist me in surgery after lunch, so I went home!

I was kind of glad about it as Mr A was off too. He had to work last night (this morning really) 1.30am until 6.30am to cover the studio in case the satellite feed (from the MUFC pre season tour in the USA) went down.

We were both tired today, he for obvious reasons! I, for whatever reason, couldn't sleep last night while he was away.
It's strange, as I spent 20 years with a permanent night shift worker and never lost any sleep; yet when Mr A is away, I toss and turn all night.

An afternoon nap seemed like a good idea, but neither of us could get to sleep, so instead we got up and did some gardening.

I've harvested the blackcurrants; there's well over 3lb this year, possibly the most I've had for a few years now. The trick seems to be pruning the bush right back; it comes back fuller.

Now to decide what to do with them :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.