Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

I did it her way

We had the closing ceremony for Shellfest today. Family lunch and another small, almost symbolic cake and one last singing of happy birthday.

Spaced out now. You know what it's like after a big wedding, or after Christmas and you have had too much to eat and drink and too little rest and have grown high on the company of people and music and laughter and so many things to do .... and then it's over and you slip exhausted into an uneasy sleep not sure if you are awake or dreaming it all again...

TSM has had seven days of celebrations for her fiftieth birthday. The project started six months ago when I got everyone to hold dates and then ... well then it was just great. Planning doesn't make perfect although it helps; people make for a great time and that's what she's had aplenty this last week.

Frank Sinatra sang a famous song about doing it his way. Well in a way that's easy if you're single minded. I didn't want to do it my way, I wanted to do it hers: with all the love in the world. Because that's what she has always given me and that's what I wanted to give her back.

Happy birthday babe. You were, and are, fantastic xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.