Nice View

This is basically my daughter's front yard.  Her apartment complex is on Lake Whatcom and this is only a short walk from her front door.  It's also the view from her living room.  

I'm giving some serious thought to moving to one of the buildings in the complex.  Moving is a big effort and not an easy decision to make. There are many things I love about my little basement apartment, not the least of which is the yard with its "squirrel" tree, and the whacky flock of pigeons (which I'm not allowed to feed) and all the hummingbirds.  It's also Lizzie's favorite spot and I think she might have to be an indoor cat if I moved to an apartment.  However, my landlords live upstairs and their floors are not carpeted so I pretty much hear almost everything that happens up there and when they have company it's almost unbearable. Sometimes I have no choice but to go out and go for a walk or a drive, and I find myself resenting the fact that I have to leave my own home just to get some peace and quiet.  It's even a bigger consideration now that I'm planning to retire next March and will be home more.  I know apartment living has its drawbacks too, so it would seem there's no perfect choice.  I think I would enjoy having more room though, so that might just tip the scales.  I try not to feel sorry for myself because I'm lucky in so many ways, but I find myself wishing I had just one of the houses back that I had over the years and I can't help wondering where I went wrong and ended  up with neither a house or the resources to get one.  Oh, boo hoo.

On the positive side, I had a bit of a scare yesterday when I couldn't see the baby gulls who live on the roof of the house across the alley (blipped a few days ago).  All I could see was mom (or dad) forlornly sitting on the peak of the roof most of the day and I was certain something terrible had happened to the kids.  Tonight, however, I spotted one of them flapping its wings in a flying lesson and heard the others so that brightened my day considerably.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.