Instography

By Instography

Wee sign

Having skipped Monday cycling to work and not bothered taking any Tuesday photos Wednesday comes around pleasantly quickly and while I'm waiting on Neil there's mild amusement at the titchy handmade sign that North Queensferry's Wee Restaurant (very good, if you've not been and still good when you have been) was using to direct potential diners around the roadworks for the new bridge. Other than that I went to work, put my bike in for a much-needed service and debated spoke tension with the mechanic on the phone at lunchtime. 

This sort of discussion never goes well. He tells me my spoke tension is too low. I say I know, I built the wheels that way. He says "if you put any substantial weight on those wheels they'll turn to jelly". I point out that he'd seen me that morning: there's substantial weight on those wheels every day. I thank him for his advice. I pick up the bike (new bottom bracket, chain, outer chain ring, cables, front derailleur for £80, excluding the cost of the service. Not bad, I thought). It's 5.15pm and the next train's not until 5.48 so I decide to ride home. Pleasant in spite of the rain and having to undo the mechanics best attempt at making my brakes work (new pads needed. I knew but the service deal is a basic tweaking plus a choice of brakes or drivetrain. I chose to let him do the more annoying drivetrain).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.