Common Blue

After a lovely day as a volunteer at the Wolseley Centre, I was driving home and the evening light was so beautiful.  I decided to pull over, on the final day of the Big Butterfly Count, and see if the blues were around at Pipe Hill Heathland.

Male and female were in evidence, but both skittish and fluttering and hiding. And as you know, if I get a blue photo, I have to blip that one.

Even when I got a few shots of the Wolseley Centre kingfisher. He was very active today and when I was on my lunch break, I joined the fans and paparazzi on the boardwalk. He'd been fishing (and possibly feeding the female sitting on the eggs - optimism today) but when I was there he was just flying past and then preening and washing.

Yes, it's been a lovely Sunday and I hope you've had a good day too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.