Return to the North

By Viking

My day

Well what a wonderful,if flipping cold, day I've had. Our Arts Week started this morning so I headed out to Monkey Island with our Year 7/8 students. We met up with a  famous local driftwood artist. He talked to the students about art using driftwood and then about what to look for on the beach etc. 

The students then spent the next 2-3 hours searching for items that they could bring back to school to work on for the rest of the day and tomorrow. They had a ball! The sun was shining although it was bloody cold! I took lots of wonderful shots of the kids, including some portraits that I am really really chuffed with but can't put them up in public. 

I and 4 of the girls headed to the Orepuki Cafe to buy 13 hot chocolates to take away :-) after which we headed back to school.

My afternoon was spent wandering around the other workshops going on and seeing some amazing art.

At the end of the school day I went to have a look at the progress on the driftwood - wow some amazing pieces

And then it was time to head out on to the field to freeze my tits off watching the football team play. We lost 8-0 but against a team of boys who were year 11 -12 boys and we ranged from year 9 upwards. A pretty uneven contest but our kids did well (last time they got beat by the same team 15-0!)

So this piece is driftwood with a wee bit of frost still on it - sums up my day! Loved every minute of it although not sure where my toes dropped off! Have added some extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.