Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Diamond Butterfly

Hoorah!  Today it was dry all day, and sunny quite a lot of it.  In fact, it approximated a sunny Summer day.  When I got home at lunchtime there were several butterflies (small Tortoiseshell) on the Buddleia, the first I have seen for months. 

However, the butterfly I have chosen as my thumbnail today is entirely fake, and made out of paper.  It is sitting on one of the Lilies (Stinky Lilies I usually call them, 'cos I hate the smell) in the bouquet of flowers my sister and I had delivered to Mum this afternoon.

13th August is my Mum's wedding anniversary, and it just dawned on me last night that as I am 59 on my birthday this year, and Mum and Dad got married the year before I was born, then today would have been their Diamond Wedding Anniversary had Dad been alive.

Sadly my Dad has been dead for 25 years, but nevertheless, today was Mum's 60th Wedding Anniversary, and I have no doubt that if he could have hung around (he'd have been 103 if he had!) Dad would have wanted to have a bit of a party to celebrate.

So my sister and I organised this beautiful bouquet to be delivered, and we both went to visit after work, bearing gifts. 

There were a couple of pals in, and the three of them were watching Corrie (or it could have been Eastenders, I can't tell the difference). Anyway, she was over the moon with the flowers, and very appreciative of the chocolates and wine (Californian Pink Zinfandel - produced entirely for the 87-yr old Scottish Great-Granny market!).

There was lots of "But how did you remember?" and "I nearly forgot myself", but I know she was seriously happy that we remembered her big day.  God Bless you Mum; hope we get the chance to celebrate your 70th too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.