Harbour Lights

This predawn blip of the harbour at Stromness as seen from one of our bedroom windows is one that I often woke up to and which never failed to capture me- maybe you feel I should get out more.

An hour and a half later the throb of engines woke me up again and I watched as 'our ferry', as in the one we should have been on, slid out of its berth, did a pirouette in mid channel and steamed off on its way to Scrabster without us.

That leave taking from Stromness In the past was always so emotive as one stood watching as the ferry widened the distance to shore, gliding past the town until it rounded the Ness and lost sight of the grey huddled houses.

Not today though, our sick car saga means a three day reprieve on leaving Orkney and will engender no such similar emotion, as we leave Kirkwall at midnight and will be settled in our cabin as the ferry sets sail.

Now, as I post this, we are packed and waiting for the taxi to take us, the bikes and the luggage to our car and the next accommodation in Kirkwall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.