A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Who needs Nutrilium and Boswelox

or pentapeptides or any of the other made up rubbish that the big beauty companies are selling?

I have an heirloom in my office - a book entitled "The Modern Housewife's Book" - the Price is quoted as "3/6" which is old money! Its late 40's/early 50's publication. I have it along with a number of genuine World War 2 ration leaflets and health information leaflets from the Ministry of Food - they are courtesy of my Step dad, Roy. He lent them to us last year when James was very interested in the World Wars.

I was trying to think what I could blip tonight and was pondering on the fact that Remembrance Day is next Tuesday, with parades and Remembrance Day ceremonies on Sunday - then I remember this little treasure trove - in fact, I think I could blip for a year from this book.

Pure genius - so, I present to you some "Simple Beauty Aids" for the modern woman.

Picture 1 - this lady (Aunt Kate as she is referred to throughout the book) - is 'filling out the hollows in her neck" using warm olive oil and patting it into her neck. She must do this every night for it to be effective.

Picture 2 - Apparently, Aunt Kate is combing her hair in the sunshine as it helps to keep it in good condition. The trick to this is to "Lift up the hair, piece by piece, to let the air and sunshine reach the roots". No need for serum, leave in conditioner or rubbish like that then!

Picture 3 - my favourite - by "Coating the chin with a teaspoon of gum tragancanth mixed to a jelly with ordinary vinegar" and then "slapping vigourously with the backs of the fingers" a double chin apparently will soon disappear.

I have to say, that "Aunt Kate" was a modern women ahead of her time - her book shows her hanging wallpaper (and later in the book 'patching' wallpaper which I hope isn't because she cocked it up in the first place!), changing fuses, knitting a complete wardrobe for babies and small children, advising and administering various forms of first aid, icing wedding cakes, advising on kitchen design (in the appropriately entitled section "kitchens ARE important"), advising "young mothers" in the section "Simple rules for young mothers" and followed by "Healthy babies are Good Babies", advising on gardening throughout the seasons and taking care of a variety of Household pets. And there is a whole section on "Woman and Marriage" in which dresses are referred to as 'frocks' and the whole purpose of getting married is to have children and set up and manage a home!

This woman was Delia Smith, Alan Titchmarsh, Supernanny, Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen, Trinny and Susannah, all rolled into one.

I feel distinctly humbled!

(Not even going to mention what a dreadfully crap afternoon I have had. But I have!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.