Capital adventures

By marchmont

Dead Ringers

Another ever changing day. Started off in a very sunny Leith for a meeting with TPS then back to the office for some diary rearranging. Three meetings re scheduled. That left an afternoon free to catch up.

The plan was to leave at 4. I left at 5.30. I also discovered late in the day that the ticket I had for the BBC tent was, 2 tickets, but at that late date no-one was free. It also wasn't worth going home so I headed off to Sylvestre's for something to eat.

Gyles Brandreth popped his head round the door to check a booking, but despite the fact I'm a big BBC 2 Scotland star (!) he didn't recognise me. I smiled at him, well he was 6 inches away from me.

Came out the restaurant and bumped into another weel kent face, a Dame. My friend B up from London for a few days and on her way to the Queen's Hall. I was off in the other direction but we had time for a chat. It was amazing to bump into her like that. A minute either way and we'd have missed one another.

So then to the BBC tent for 'Dead Ringers' a R4 stalwart. It started late and overran but it was funny. Amazing watching them do the faces that make the impersonations. On stage John Culshaw and Jan Ravens. The BBC arena was still hooching when we came vout and for one it was warm enough to enjoy but I came home.

Now a long weekend beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.