Capital adventures

By marchmont

McIntosh and Cable

I had a bimbly kind of day after not going swimming (now there's a surprise).  I rescued Molly from #16 (again) and it rained, a lot.  did some domestic stuff and I hate to say but I did some work too, very light touch.

Later it was time to go festivaling.  To the Parliament for the Festival of Politics discussion between the Presiding Officer, Ken McIntosh, and Vince Cable.  It's amazing that we have a Parliament building that is so well used, so accessible and that has such amazing things go on it. 

Vince Cable was interesting and revealing and erudite.  Clearly a very principled and intelligent man.  It was an enjoyable and informative 90 minutes.  Then to the EICC, a building I have never been in before.  The show was National Theatre of Scotland and TEAM production of 'Anything that Gives of Light'.  It was excellent (although I'm not sure I'd have brought 3 kids aged between approx 2 and 6 to it) with shades of 'The Cheviot ...' and some thought provoking takes on Scotland's history.

then a phone call from #2 son to ask about keys - not his but Hugo's.  So after i got home I had to rendezvous with him in Dalkeith Road.  Eventually home well after 10 to have dinner, pizza and wine.

Molly, meanwhile, is confined to barracks.  It won't work longterm but it's a good temporary fix. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.