Experimenting with a sour dough

In 5 days time we take off for a long haul holiday, great no pressure there then. Ha. In my wisdom I decided to start a sour dough mix using the Paul Holywood recipe from a recent kindle download How to Bake. This was last weekend. Part of the sour dough starter process throws away half the mix, twice. Don't try to understand that bit, but I couldnt do that and ended up with four batches of this lovely cidery smelling starter. Neighbours above and below me also enjoy food and cooking and I passed on a batch to each. Then john and I left for Cumbria.

They each continued with their batches with lots of commication via emails, we arrived home expecting my lot to have collapsed, but no all was well and the above shows the first stage of the starter dough in use to make a loaf.

This is a very long winded way to make a loaf that could well not be edible if it ever reaches the stage of baking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.