momcat1

By momcat1

Willet stay or willet go?

Yes it is a willet. Sandpiper family  and much larger than the sanderlings that I see more frequently. There were 3 of the on the beach this evening , and all in their winter , excuse me, non-breeding plumage already. The extras are 2 willet fighting over the same sand crab. It was pretty funny to watch this as they got fairly tangled up in each other. There loser ran off and the winner pranced off with its meal. I am glad they were out as it was our last walk on the beach and I wanted something I hadn't blipped before. They don't stand still often , and the shadows were getting pretty long so it actually took over 50 shots to get some in focus. Which should tell you I still need a lot of work on my photographic skills. Hmmm, maybe more vacation time is in order.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.