The Burnsall Fell Race

I've only been able to run once or at most twice a week this last month or so, a combination of no time, a lack of energy, and a shortfall on the simple desire to get out, something I've never been short of before. I've planned to run the Burnsall Fell Race a few times in recent years but come the day the effort required to cycle over there had proved too much, it being easier to go watch the lads play cricket. Today I did finally get my act together but I made things easier for myself by catching the bus. I felt like a wimp but after my experience cycling out for the Kettlewell race last year I decided perhaps the time has come to be kinder to my body!

It meant that I had loads of time to spare to walk to the summit cairn here as a gentle warm-up for the race. I'd never actually been to the top other than on the race itself. It felt like a long way when you walk up on a warm, muggy day! I was finally able to appreciate the view and the heather as I've never been able to before. Back to the village and, stopping to chat to loads of old friends, I didn't actually have long to get ready. Once the race started I was in my zone right away and it always amazes me how fast the time goes. You are at the summit before you know it and then picking your way down the vertiginous rocky path to the field wall before the very fast descent through the fields back to the village. The support was fantastic at the end. I got some great cheers. You're running so fast that you've no idea whom they're coming from but it feels good!

For me, it was all over in 21 minutes and 13 seconds. The race was won by Sam Tosh in 14.49. It seems all quite improbably fast when you look way down to the village from the summit here. My best ever time of 15.14 would have placed me 3rd today. In that event, over 20 years ago, it placed me 14th. That seems like a lifetime ago now but I'm very happy to still be able to race quite well. I finished 58th today from 156 starters. 

I lost a lot of time coming down, where I'm no longer the maniac I once was. My good mate Ian who I actually beat to the top ended up finishing over 2 minutes ahead of me in 25th place. These races are usually won and lost on the descent. The year I did that great time I actually ended up in A&E in the evening after having fallen and opened up a huge hole around my hip. I didn't even know I was hurt until someone pointed out the blood running down my leg, such was the adrenaline coursing through my body. It was good to get some of that magic juice flowing today. I think I needed that!

PS Worth going large for this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.