Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie: Street Performer (No 5)

Another morning stroll down the Mile. I must say, I'm enjoying my Archie photo challenge. I can be guaranteed to find some colourful willing person to hold him and smile. And then to give him back.

This lady was with the Bubble Man, who was having rest from his bubbles. They both made a fuss of Archie, and the man did a few bubbles especially for him - he said that dogs love 'em - but our wee Archie was... a bit scared. Of bubbles!

When I came back up the road again, he had a whole lineup of the cutest wee toddlers, all enthralled and squealing and leaping for his bubbles. A photographer's dream. But Archie hell...

Definitely not so many people down town as at the weekend, of course, but every performer I spoke to (and took a flyer from) was quite pleased with how their show has gone. One chap declared that they might break even with costs. I'm sure many of them don't.

A walk through the Meadows home, meeting a lovely big bouncy black lab pup. A bit too big and bouncy for Arch. But her mum was appreciative of my turning my back when the pup jumped up. The dog then bounded towards a wee toddler and jumped up, which could have ended in tears, and the owner could do nothing to stop it. Glad I've got a wee dog.

Rang John Lewis Customer Support, re the 'faulty TV' report from last week, as I hadn't heard a peep. They seemed very confused, and knew nothing about it! However, a helpful chap said he'd 'follow it up' and ring me this afternoon. Hmmm...

Uncle A is dealing with bubbles as well today! His professional bubble wrappers have taken over and are wrapping everything in sight.

Big Flit Day tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.