Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy Day

What a day! Up and out with JR to school, as I needed the car today.  Archie and I had a walk along Porty Beach. There was a chilly wind in the city when I took Arch out first thing at home, so I put on my fleece and hat, but it was warm and still at the beach! What a glorious morning! The tide was out, so plenty of hard sand to walk on, and plenty of dogs to play with and owners to chat to.

We met Betty and Ben at the groynes and walked back along with them, Betty and I chatting away like old friends (but Ben ignored Archie, who wanted to be his friend). I had a coffee and a bacon bap at the wee caravan, and Betty and I continued our chat. She's recently moved to Porty, and loves living there, but wishes her husband was still with her to enjoy it. He died three years ago, and when she said, 'I don't cry every night now...' I nearly burst into tears. We swapped phone numbers - I'll meet up with her again.

Archie was sick in the car. Twice.

I settled Archie back at home, and went to Uncle A's flat, where the removal folk were almost finished. I was able to stay behind and clean the fridge and hoover etc. Took longer than I thought... Then I went over to the new flat, where the removal people were almost finished again at that end. I spent some time putting things away in the kitchen - he'll never find anything! But at least the kitchen is clear,  he has plenty of food for an evening meal, and his bed is ready. He just needs to find those pills.... It will take some time to sort everything else out, but he'll just have to take his time. And probably get rid of more stuff...

Back home about 2pm to see Archie, and take him out. We were walking down one side of the road, when there was barking from the other side. Rufus, Archie's wee pal was at the gate and spotted us! We were invited in by C, who is a newly retired teacher and recognised me from a (brilliant) weekend ICT course we were on together many years ago! Archie and Rufus get on fine. Though Rufus is quite old, he was raring to have a wee play, so I invited them up to play in our back garden this afternoon, while the adults had a G&T.

I spent an age on the phone to John Lewis. The 'faulty TV' report from last week seems to have evaporated into thin air! The chap who said he would 'chase it up and get back to me' didn't. They're sending another chap to look at the TV. Not good enough, JL!

Bailey's mum came to take A & B up The Hill. What an action packed day! I needed that Magnum today! And those Maltesers... And that G&T!!

PS Added some extras - the cheeky wee starling wanting to share my bap, Archie on the groyne, and Archie meets Ben over the groyne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.