Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Liquid Wings

We went to Morte Point for a walk today. Tess took her camera too and got some pretty good shots for 7-year-old with a kiddie-camera. She also took her scooter and I found the whole child with scooter on slopes zooming off out of sight and earshot near cliffs almost too much. So we ditched the scootering idea after 15 minutes and went for a more laid-back walk.

I wanted a photo of this little fellow because I don't recognise this species of bee so thought I'd check it out when we got home. He has no stripes but one large splodge of custard yellow and a white bottom. I've had a quick look online and I'm still not sure what it is. It's probably worth a view in large.

I'm totally thrilled that I managed to get a detailed photo with a longer lens. I wasn't expecting it. I thought I'd be taking distant shots of the sea so put my zoomier lens on. Then Tess became interested in everything in the hedgerows and it turned out to be a mostly close-up kind of outing. I love the way the wings look like almost like liquid mercury.

Poor old Richard ended up plodding along with the dog and Tess's scooter whilst we sauntered along, stopping regularly. What a treat for Father's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.