Time Flies....

But it didn't in  my working days. So much to do when I got home, and children to see to, although I only worked part time when they were young.
These time clocks were devices to record the time you started work and the time you left. The pointer moves to the employees number and stamps the time on their card. When I first started work in the Civil Service, we just signed a book to say we had arrived or left. I came across one of these time clocks later on when I worked  part time in Marshall's of Cambridge's drawing office. We were allowed 3 minutes lateness and then we lost 15 minutes pay. I always managed to get there with a few seconds to spare. I don't know why I didn't leave home 5 minutes earlier, but it was probably due to getting the children off to school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.