Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Best Man Duties

My friend S asked me to be his Best Man at his wedding (technically he asked me to be Best Woman but we both keep reverting to the typical role title).  They're having a Handfasting in Edinburgh then a traditional Wedding in London.  As S is up doing a show in the Festival we've been meeting up each week to finalise plans.  Last week was reception venue, this week ceremony venue.

We met and S filled me in on this week's woes (venue cancellation!) before we took the hike up to the ruins of St Anthony's Chapel.  We were there to scout out possible locations, where guests and other important people would stand, what we'd do if it was really miserable weather up at the Chapel etc.  In true Edinburgh fashion, we stood, looking out over the city and watched the weather moving in... time to get off the hill!

By the time we were walking back past Parliament, the sun was back out, the ponds looked so inviting.  Dipping my hand in it was actually warm!  So we decided that we didn't need to be grown ups all day, took our shoes off, rolled up the trousers and paddled.  We chatted and planned and were amused by the daftest dog ever.  Young children watched on enviously that they weren't in the water.  A stop in to the Fudge Kitchen (yes, I'm weak) and then up to The Mile so S could flier and I could head home.

On the way home I was caught in torrential rain, soaked to the skin but carried on regardless, smile on my face because what's the point in running for shelter once you're already wet.

A lovely day and next time I see S it will be the night before his Handfasting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.