tjc71

By tjc71

Eidfjord

Can you spot the ship? Today we woke up as we cruised into Ulvik. Although it was wet and misty the scenery was still dramatic and it is everything I'd hoped for. We dropped of some folk who were getting on a coach to drive to our next stop, Eidfjord.

31 of us opted to do some kayaking which was amazing but after two and a half hours I was pretty wet, tired and cold. Behind me in the two man kayak was Dave who either had an immensely strong right arm or some sort of body imbalance which kept drifting us left. I was constantly trying to compensate and my left arm is going to be sore tomorrow. Our guide was very knowledgable and had fantastic English so I learnt a lot alongside trying to keep Dave on the straight and narrow.

Back on board I peeled off the cold, wet clothes and had a good 15 minutes in the shower trying to warm up just before dinner. We are on a table with the two Pauls, a talkative husband with a sometimes embarrassed wife and a talkative wife with a mostly silent and sometimes embarrassed husband. It's good fun and I thoroughly enjoyed my five courses this evening. The food is really tasty, well presented and the portion sizes are nice and small so that five courses provide about the right amount of food. The only problem tonight was that the waiter saw me enjoying my Madras Chicken Tikka and offered me more...

We are now en route to Flam where I will be catching a train up the mountain and cycling back down. Sounds like the correct order of things to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.