Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Vane Law

Last of five weekends in August. The morning ride down to Drumelzier in the Borders. As there is a SW breeze, I head out through Bonnyrigg, Carrington and Temple. The breeze is not as strong as last week, but the road to Gladhouse Reservoir is uphill, and open to the wind. The trees around the reservoir provide some shelter.

Once past the turn off for Moorfoot, the trees melt away, and I am on a high moor road and the wind is in my face again. A bit of a struggle to the A703 then, but turning south, the road is sheltered.

At Eddleston, its time to climb again the take the road through the Meldons. Both looking very purple with heather. At Lyne Station, I am on the Stobo Road. A few weeks ago, I was speeding down some of these lanes on the Tour O' The Borders. It was a lot colder that day, and not as bright. It was nice to see some of the sights in a brighter light.

The Tour O' The Borders didn't go through Drumelzier, we took the Dreva road. Today I am not following a predetermined route, so I stick to the B road. This photo is taken just south of the wee hamlet. The hill at the back, covered in heather, is Vane Law. In front, the grey part is The Craigs, actually slopes leading up to Vane Law.

What caught my eye was just how colourful it was. Shame I didn't have a bigger camera to get a better image.

From here, I head to Broughton, and head home though Blyth Bridge, Mountain Cross, West Linton and Penicuik. Don't want to be too late, so I refrain from taking more pictures. The wind on my back means it doesn't take long to get to Penicuik, and the home.

102.4km. Earned my afternoon cake then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.