and through the wire...

By hesscat

Up The Junction

Last week Ms H and I were discussing about how one remembers the first vinyl you ever bought and how playing it, compared to CDs and MP3, was more of a special "thing" than just pressing play and skip... of course we didn't call it vinyl back then... and no I never owned any 78s!

The chat was triggered after watching Declan McKenna, who we since found out won Glastonbury's Emerging Talent this year and we went to watch him because he was just 16. He played solo, with some looping gadgets and I was impressed at both his skillz (see what I did there) and the songz (hmmm, don't think that worked) he was writing and performing.

The last song in his set was Brazil, (about FIFA corruption!!) and he said it was available as 7" blue vinyl and Ms H loved it. I suggested if she was ever going to buy vinyl, she should make it count... so I hope it arrives sometime soon... and Declan goes onto bigger things!

Er... rambling on, back to plot, this is Squeeze's Up the Junction 7" which I remember being really excited about (as it was purple vinyl) and I am amazed I have not looked that closely at one before! I understand how CDs work... on, off... I understand these are analogue and the stylus picks up the variations... but how does it work! How did they even think it would work to invent it! Like, ages ago...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.