LadyPride

By LadyPride

School run FAIL!!

Big day. The first ever school run.

We all woke up silly early and were on a mission to get out of the house on time. We succeeded.

Squidge seemed unfeasibly excited and practically skipped there and shooed us off! We were left with our hands on the window watching her play forlornly much to the amusement of her teacher.

We shed a little tear as we walked back up the school path. Not sadness, pride really. She was so brave and happy, it was a relief.

The school pick up was on me so I made sure I caught an early train back from Manchester so that there were no delays. So early that I stopped off for groceries and a coffee and before I knew it, time had marched on.

I'd piled the groceries into a paper bag and just as I set off it started to tip it down. I marched along in my heels balancing my laptop bag, groceries and umbrella but it was hard to make up time. The bag eventually got so wet it gave way spilling groceries all over the pavement. I was now officially late for Squidge's first school pick up. The shame.

I scooped everything up best I could using my bag and pockets and ran the rest of the way. She was the last in there (Oh God!) and was playing happily with her teacher thankfully. Another teacher pulled me to one side for a polite ticking off - not for being late as it happens for giving her peanut butter sandwiches in her packed lunch - which are apparently banned! I wasn't doing very well here.

Squidge was reluctant to leave (that's a first) and had a brilliant day by all accounts so we had a tantrum at the door about putting her coat on.

I finally got her moving down the path and chanced upon a glamorous bunch of Cheshire Mums. I was so eagerly eavesdropping on their conversation that I walked Audrey straight into the wing mirror of a car!!!! As I comforted her howls they all looked at me in disgust for letting it happen.

I think it's safe to say that I messed that school run up. Must try harder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.