One step at a time!

By IanO

Sunday 30th August

Today was a stunner, the weather was the best I've witnessed in quite a while. 

My good friend Gary called at 10 o'clock and asked if I fancied a trip around the local farmland on his quad bike (see extra pic). Each day he has to check the beasts in the fields to make sure they look healthy and are not showing signs of distress.

I've been coming to this part of Scotland for the last thirteen years but today I was shown a totally different perspective. Being able to get all around the farm fields (at some speed) the views changed minute by minute. It was absolutely wonderful and my pictures do it no justice whatsoever. We stopped for a lengthy chat with one of Gary's friends (also on a quad bike - is there any other way to travel? I think not). Needless to say I had a great time, Gary dropped me off at home a couple of hours later, my back was quite sore but it was well worth it for the vistas I had seen.

I am not traditionally a sun worshipper but today the sun beat down and for the first time in living memory (in the UK) yours truly stripped to the waist, sunbathed then fell asleep in the garden and it felt great. Of course I didn't pack any shorts, this is Scotland after-all.

The rest of the day was spent lossicking about in the sun, dog walking and generally having a relaxing time. We spent the evening watching the film Notting Hill, yes I know its supposed to be cheesy and corny but it also happens to be one of my favourite films. So all in all an excellent end to a lovely day.

Yesterday's back Blip.

More pics on my Flickr page here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.