madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Peace

Thank you for all your thoughtful comments on Milly - they gave me comfort but each one made me start  crying  again so I'm afraid I can't bring myself to reply to each one just yet. I was pleased Milly hung on until AH14 left as I had had such a lovely time in her company, it would not have been good if her visit had ended on a sad note. I was sad enough to wave her goodbye as it was! 
I buried Milly on the allotment this morning in the prettiest box my sister had made and given me a while ago. It was decorated with beautiful thick 3D paper flowers and seemed  suitably beautiful to lay her to rest in. Once this was done I pottered around with the allotment chickens and on my plot and my heart eased. 
In the afternoon I joined the Tavistock Camera group with Gilesey for a photographic walk on Dartmoor led by mydartmoorwalks. This was just what I needed to distract me and was an absolute pleasure, both the company and walk. The views were spectacular and the opportunities to take photographs endless. I was dismayed to discover that even with a photographic group I was the one lagging behind at the back - often losing sight of the rest of them completely! 
We passed these stone stacks, I can see a heart shape formed by the moss and the bare part looks like the shape of a chicken!  Or is that just my imagination? This is where I began to lose contact with the group, the sun came out and I had to climb back to photograph them again with the crepuscular rays - hate the name, love the effect! There were also stones cut for London Bridge which never made it - it's loss, our gain! Plus I swear there was a giant chickens claw laid across the landscape! Right at the end of the walk there was a little field mouse which was running around seemingly unbothered by us or the dog with us! I swear it looked like a kangaroo with it's long back legs! There are some mighty strange things up on Dartmoor!
I also have to wonder if my optician knows his job, for I swear the calves in my extra were sheep and I wondered why they were nestling with the huge cow! When I zoomed in with my camera I realised my mistake! ( Yay! All extras now used!)
After another  cup of tea at home with Gilesey and a lovely cuddle and lots of licks from Nibbler, I headed home via the supermarket and the chickens - my locking up duty as covering for another coop member. It was good to begin and end the day up there with the chickens and to say goodnight to Milly, and also Molly and Fred my cats who are also buried on my plot. If I ever leave the plot I intend to dig them all up, clean their skulls and keep them on display at home. I may ask for my ashes to be scattered up there otherwise - it is a place that just brings me pure contentment and happiness and the views are splendid!  
If you fancy seeing the views on Dartmoor they are here as usual! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.