Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Not the Arctic #3: Busy Day

Busiest day of the trip today.

I decided to walk into the main town, Villa Baleira this morning. It's about 3 miles from the hotel I was staying in and I opted to walk there on the road, planning to return via the beach.

It's a tiny place, but very beautiful and like the rest of the island, very friendly and welcoming. Christopher Columbus lived on the island for 3 years, married a local woman and his son was born on the island. There's a small museum about him in the centre too.

Stopped off at a beach bar on the way back for a restorative beer and some food before setting off the rest of the way back on the beach. About 10 mins in though, it started raining (warm rain) so I head back up to the road and the rain stopped :-)

The late afternoon/early evening was spent bouncing around the island in a Land Rover Freelander. I love going off-road and this was a particularly enjoyable trip, taking in some amazing views of the island, a wine tasting, old windmills, a bit of desert and some fossils. And being the random single person, I got to sit in the front :-)

Big beer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.