Bimjim4

By Bimjim4

Ballerina

This is an oil on canvas painting, which we have just had professionally framed by a near neighbour of ours who is an excellent artist in his own right, and an accomplished framer.
I bought this lovely ballerina from the artist on our cruise visit to St Petersburg recently, having fallen for it the moment I set eyes on it.
The young artist responsible was selling his pictures from a stall on Nevsky Prospekt.
How much did I pay?
He asked for 60 Euros and settled, after a bit of haggling, for 45.
I have to say I feel a bit guilty about that deal, for it is a stunning picture and I certainly think it is worth a great deal more, but the artist was happy with the conclusion - and so was I. I would have happily settled for more had he pressed for it.
It is a lovely memento, especially as we also attended the Russian Ballet for a wonderful performance of Swan Lake in a delightful theatre setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.