Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2015 Sunday -- The Dress

When my cellphone rang at 3:08 this afternoon, I wasn’t thinking much about the fact that this is “Grandparents Day.”

Ashly's voice asked, “Gramma, where are you?”  (I thoroughly enjoy that having a cellphone causes them to wonder where I am.)

I answered, “I’m at home.” She replied, “I’m at the bridal shop by Tyler Galleria. Can you come here? I found a wedding dress that I think is THE dress."

I responded, “I need 10 minutes to get out the door, but I’m on my way.” I wasn’t sure if Grandpa Fun  was included in this invitation, but I wanted him on this excursion with me. He quickly put the three "Mutts of Funville" in their crates and we were out the door and gone.  At the junction of the 15 and 91 Freeways, I sent her a text, “We’re on our way.”

Moments later I sent another text, “Do you want Gpaw to stay in the car? or should he come in too?” Her response,  “He can come in.”  

We arrived at the parking lot to discover that the entire shopping center is under-construction. Very poignant!  Our granddaughter’s life is under-construction too.

Once the car was parked, we both walked toward the bridal store.  As we walked through the door, I turned back to Mr. Fun and said, “Walking into this store is just so emotional and so dangerous.” He knows that I love everything about being a bride.

Once inside the door, I started moving through the chicane of floor length beautiful dresses, taking deep breaths and trying not to stop and touch each one.

Finally I found the “stage” area and there she was . . . our 26 year-old granddaughter all dressed-up in a bride costume.  The moment took my breath away. Ashly Nicole, our favorite red-head granddaughter, in full “dress” rehearsal, she was more than stunning.

These two grandparents were pulled back to the moment almost 27 years ago, when an itty-bitty baby was born on September 19th.  Today that baby was transformed instantly before our eyes into a woman, a gorgeous woman, who found the dress she wants to wear fourteen months from now when she says “I do.”

Being present on this Grandparents Day was more than a blessing. Thank you Ashly for inviting us.

Grandparents Day has been Grand! If we had life to live over again we would have a lot more grandchildren!

Rosie (& Mr. Fun) aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.