focusman

By welshcameraman

Quince

I love Quince jelly and have made it many times, but since we moved to South Wales, I cannot find any fruiterer who either stocks them or can obtain them.  Two years ago, in desperation I bought a couple of young trees. In their first year, they produced nothing at all, but in the spring of this year, they produced about 300 flowers between them and I thought I was onto a winner, but the one thing that I didn't bargain on was the appalling weather which we suffered just after these wonderful blooms had appeared.  After all that heavy rain and very strong winds, I was left with just one fruit which I am proud to display to you all today!  It is quite large at present and I am hoping that it will grow even bigger before being harvested after it turns yellow.  I think this years jams will now have to be Quince and Apple!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.