Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Holy Spiders!

Here are the spiders' webs catching the evening sun that I missed on Tuesday because I was sans camera. How lucky it is that both spiders and the sun are so predictable, you could set your watch by them ;-)

We have a friend who coined the phrase 'Holy Spiders!' when he wanted to swear in front of children without using any profanities. I felt it suited these shimmering haloes.

And there was I, happily living in a place where people don't just nick stuff only to have something nicked! Not by a local I hasten to add, but by trophy-hunting tourists. Our rented-out holiday accommodation has been lovingly filled with things we like, so it's rather disappointing to find that a paying guest has taken enough of a shine to it for it to fall into their suitcase. Last year when one couple left, my favourite glass candle holder was nowhere to be found. I assumed it had fallen and broken and that they had cleaned up and forgotten to tell me. When the same thing happened this year in the wake of the same couple I began to suspect trophy hunting. No worries, it's only a glass candle holder after all.

But worse, the fridge in our guest accommodation is adorned with a hand-picked selection of semi-tacky fridge magnets, most of them straight off the shelf from far-flung corners of the earth, but one with a very special history. Once upon a time while visiting my sister I noticed she had a fridge-magnet she had been given by a very dear friend. It had been bought in Turkey and was clearly from a specific Turkish resort. But the styling was very Greek and I really, really wanted it to add to my collection. It was of course necessary to remove the identity of the resort and so I adapted it with some sea-blue enamel. It was a really lovely little thing. And now I find that somebody who has stayed at our place, who has been sweet and friendly to our faces, has apparently nicked it. Don't know which couple it was of course, and can't ask for fear of upsetting others, but there was so much love in that little magnet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.