Times Of My Life

By CarolB

A Grand Day Out - Soller and Valdmossa

Our only 'official' tour of the holiday. We paid 30 euros each to go on a bus trip to Porto Soller, from where we caught this old wooden tram, built in 1912, which transported us uphill to Soller town. 

We had a lovely lunch in the square there, near to the most amazing Santander Bank I have ever seen!  Looked like it had been designed by Gaudi. 

Onward then, by coach, to the town of Valdemossa where Chopin lived for a short while, and had an affair with the writer who's nom-de-plume was George Sands.  We ate Coca de potato, a local delicacy; a sweet bun made with potato, and dusted with icing sugar.  We washed it down with almond milk, prepared with ground almonds, sugar, cinnamon and crushed ice - absolutely delicious. 

Our tour guide (Juan, from the No Frills tour company) gave us an informative and entertaining description of the history of the areas we visited, along with details of the local agriculture and produce. 

Sorry I didn't get the chance to organise a blip-meet with Soller Girl, but the outing was organised at the last minute. 

I was so glad we got the chance to do this, as I have wanted to go to Soller for ages, but the accommodation there seems to be very expensive, so there was no chance of us going to stay.  However, now that I know how amazing that whole area is I'll be keeping my eyes open for a property to buy as soon as the lottery win comes up.  :)

PS - this photo was taken by Juan, who is a Mallorcan national treasure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.