Today's Thoughts

By AApple

Hitchhiker

After settling into my seat in the lecture hall, I turned to my backpack to get my pen and notebook and was surprised by this little guy who was crawling on my backpack! I stared at it, stunned. I wasn't sure what to do as class was about to start. I considered ignoring it, or picking it up and putting it on the seat in front of me, but things might not turn out so well for the little guy, so in the end, I took it all the way outside and put it on a plant.

After doing some research, I think this one is probably a multicoloured Asian lady beetle, Harmonia axyridis.

I am not sure where I got the idea from, but when I was little, I used to think that when ladybugs got older, they turned orange. This was back when I wasn't aware of the concept of species, and thought all ladybugs are red and had 5 black spots. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.