momcat1

By momcat1

The Nittany Lion

Penn State's mascot is the Nittany Lion, named after a type of mountain lion that used to be found in the region around Mt Nittany near  State College. This was a night game , and though the field has pretty amazing lighting , this needed an ISO of 800.The Lion was encouraging the stands to roar before the game ( fight song .. Roar Lions , roar.  etc etc). The stadium really rocks when they get going. I am always amazed at the connection  the PSU grads have with the school. Why may you ask, do I have Penn State season tickets when I am not a graduate , and neither is my husband?The short story is because my Uncle is a PSU grad (and husbands brother and his uncle) but my uncle had season tickets for 55 years and gave them up this year. and offered them to me. We thought the son would be there this year so we said yes. The  son is at SUNY Cortland. But now I have season tickets for PSU. My uncle and my aunt were always kind enough to take us to one the games every year when I was growing up , and even took me to the Gator Bowl one year. We went  with them and the kids too a few times.It is a lot of fun.I am not kidding when I say she stadium rocks. Admittedly it is mixed with a little regret as I am not an alumnus, so I feel like a bit of an outsider when everybody else is painting the town blue. (If God isn't a Penn State fan why is the sky blue and white?). (My mother wouldn't let me go because it was too "wild" in the 70's). So , I yell We are....Penn State anyway when they get cheering . because it's fun, because you get caught up in it , and well , at least I'm from Pennsylvania (originally)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.