diary days

By Carie

Pinning the Quilt

The ladies at Quilt group today helped me pin my quilt. This quilt started off really quick to make and I had three quarters sewn together and then realised I did not have enough of the dark blue fabric. I had bought the fabrics from the Souq from several different stalls weeks before and of course when I went back I couldn't remember at which stall I had found the blue fabric.

I then put the quilt away for a couple of years, but continued to look for the blue or something similar. Eventually last summer in the UK, I found something similar that I thought would do. When I made up the squares and laid the whole thing out, I realised that the difference in color was too great and it did not look good with the top half dark blue and the bottom a lighter shade....so........I took the whole thing apart and re configured it. It was a lot of work and quite disheartening, but I would never have been happy with the result as it was.

After all the hard work with art exhibitons etc over the last few months, it was refreshing the other day to be able to give attention to my quilt. Today it was a huge help to have the quilt group ladies help me pin the quilt. It would have taken me all day at home (especially with the dubious "help" from my two delinquent cats!) whereas with all the helping hands, we had it done in about half an hour and a nice lunch and visiting with friends to boot! I now have to quilt it, which I think I will just knot and then stitch the edge borders "in the ditch" as it is so huge (Super King size) that I will have problems getting it in the sewing machine, and it has been hanging round for too long for me to spend time hand quilting, I now just want to get it finished. I will blip when it's finished and on the bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.