diary days

By Carie

My art class students

Today was my final art class before the summer break. I was really proud of my students as they all did really well and have come a long way in just five lessons. I will run more courses in the fall. This was a basic drawing course and the first time they had used color and the first time many had used colored pencils since childhood. Some were apprehensive when starting out, that colored pencils could produce a good result, but as they worked on their sketch and it developed they surprised themselves at the final result. It is such a great medium. Easy to transport, cheap to buy and readily available anywhere. And I have found very addictive! It alwasy takes me a lot longer to do a colored pencil drawing than a watercolor, but having now done three portrait commissions using this medium I am always excited when a client chooses this medium even though I know it will take me three times as long to complete!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.