wonderfulworld

By wonderfulworld

Poppies

I shall be glad remembering how the fleet,
Lithe poppies ran like torchmen with the wheat.

(last 2 lines of Helen Hunt Jackson poem 'Poppies on the Wheat')

I went for a cycle today and was glad to be not driving until later this evening. It was a nice morning and I took the long route with my camera, and I took my time.

Last night I was in Dublin for the Aung San Suu Kyi concert in the Grand Canal theatre and drove home late at night, nearly falling asleep on the way. Anyway the concert was excellent. What it lacked in slickness it made up for 100 fold in sincerity, good will and feeling. The artists gave Daw Suu a mighty Irish welcome which she was very moved by. She had come from picking up her Nobel Peace Prize in Norway, and in Dublin she was to pick up the Freedom of the City of Dublin awarded to her, in her absence, in 2000. And also the Freedom of Conscience Award by Amnesty in 2009. A lovely night, a great lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.