Jack James

By JackJames

4 bags and a bike, 6.5 hours, 400 miles, one train

The day came - leaving the flat and my second year at the University of Edinburgh. I'd managed to squeeze the remainder of my stuff into four bags, and me and my brother got up at 5:30 to struggle down to the station to get on the 7:07 direct train to Bristol.

Managed to make it, and was quite nice to be out in the morning sun. It's the longest day today - but ironically, with my long journey south, I'll be getting less daylight that I would do staying in Edinburgh, where there's still a glow in the sky past midnight.

The train pulled out, and for some reason I thought I was going to boke, so the next 2 hours went in a flash as I buried my head in my coat and slept it off.

The train wasn't busy at all - full of businessmen that came and went, and would be hard to tell them apart unless you paid great attention. Considering the length of the journey, it went quickly, and I was struggling to unload everything into a pile on the station before I knew it.

Luckily dad was able to pick me up from Bristol, as I couldn't move the stuff on my own (I tried, and ended up in a pile of baggy-bike), and drove me home.

Nice to be home, but turns out that not all that many people are back yet! Though I thought I'd left it quite late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.