Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Rotten to the core

Whilst I've been away, all the apples have ripened at once. There is a thick layer of rotting apples at the base of the tree. I thought the sheep might nibble at them but they're not interested.   The wooly babes are temporarily ousted from their pen whilst the ripe fruits fall on them disturbing their rest. 
The birds are feasting, the wasps and hornets are buzzing around and the worms will be coming up for their share at night so, there'll be little to show for the glut in a couple of weeks.  

Not exactly the image I'd planned but will do.  I'll photograph some that aren't decomposing another time.  

I had a good pick of the best that remain on the branches.  Apple sauce in the freezer,  Crumble in the oven, Strudels ready to put away for future baking and... I'm sick of apples now. I'm sure I've already stashed away more than I can consume during the coming year but, hey ho. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.