Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

And out popped.. October

Was thinking about another trip to the coast today but then a lunch with friends intervened - very nice it was too, so no regrets there.  I did walk by the herons' pad on the way out, in the hope they might be at home, but they have taken deep offence since the watercress was cut so refuse to show themselves.

In consequence, my blip for today is of sweet chestnuts on the green outside my house,  I can't yet tell if it will be a good year - last autumn we got a spectacular number.  So far this year only a few have come down and they all look rather small, but I'm hoping that's just because it's a bit early. 

Their architecture is rather wonderful, isn't it?  I love the tall stalks at the top with their tufty bits (like the tail of an indignant donkey) and the fierce spikes hiding all that silky satiny stuff.  Grand Designs or what?

Enjoy your evening and talk later  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.